Rep. McEntee and Sen. Nesselbush’s bill to extend civil statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse ceremonially signed into law
STATE HOUSE – Rep. Carol Hagan McEntee (D-Dist. 33, South Kingstown, Narragansett) and Sen. Donna M. Nesselbush’s (Dist. 15, Pawtucket, North Providence) legislation (2019-H 5171B / 2019-S 0315Aaa) that amends the state’s civil statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse was ceremonially signed into law by the governor today in the State Room of the State House.
More specifically, the legislation extends the statute of limitations for childhood sex abuse claims to 35 years. Currently, the statute of limitations is seven years in Rhode Island.
“It is unfortunate that this bill is needed in our society because it signals that not only are our children being sexually victimized, but even more sadly, many of these victims will never have their day in court to face their abusers and demand accountability for the vicious childhood assaults that have haunted their lives – often times for decades. It is for this reason that we need to significantly extend the statute of limitations on civil actions relating to sexual abuse.” said Representative McEntee.
“Childhood sexual abuse is a scourge on our society, nationally and here in Rhode Island. Today, passage of this legislation significantly moves the needle forward for these brave victims and survivors of childhood sexual abuse. Today, Rhode Island has opened the courthouse doors by significantly extending the statute of limitations. Access to justice is a cornerstone of American jurisprudence, and today we have provided that for countless survivors of childhood sexual abuse. Bravo,” said Senator Nesselbush.
The bill would extend the statute of limitations for victims of childhood sexual abuse from seven years to 35 years. The legislation would also extend to 35 years the statute of limitations for entities, individuals or organizations which caused or contributed to childhood sexual abuse through negligent supervision, conduct, concealment or other factors that enabled the abuse to occur. The State of Rhode Island and its municipalities are also included under this provision of the legislation.
The 35 year statute begins at the age of 18 for the victims.
The bill also includes a “seven year discovery rule” which enables victims of sex abuse to file suit against perpetrators and non-perpetrators up to seven years from the time a victim discovered or remembered abuse had taken place, such as through therapy as an adult.
Representative McEntee introduced this bill due to her own personal family connection to childhood sexual abuse. Last session and this session, Representative McEntee has accompanied her older sister, Dr. Ann Hagan Webb, to testify in favor of the legislation. Representative McEntee has referred to the legislation as “Annie’s Bill” due to her sister’s advocacy for the bill.
Dr. Webb recounted her own experiences being a young survivor of childhood sexual abuse at the hands of the family parish priest. Representative McEntee’s sister, now a psychologist specializing in counseling adult survivors of childhood sexual abuse, detailed how often it takes years, if not decades, for victims of childhood sexual assault to not only come to terms with their abuse, but also to find the strength to come forward, to name their abuser, and seek justice for the crimes perpetrated against their innocence and youth.
Dr. Webb also explained that because of the complex and often long healing process in regards to these crimes, many abusers are not only never charged criminally, but they also are shielded by statutes of limitations from having to answer for their crimes in a civil manner.
“Victims of childhood sexual abuse deserve justice and by passing this legislation, these brave people who have the courage to confront their victimizers will have a chance at justice for the crimes committed against them as children,” concluded Representative McEntee and Senator Nesselbush.
From the left: Sen. Donna M. Nesselbush, sponsor, Governor Gina M. Raimondo, Dr. Anne Hagan Webb, advocate and sister of Representative McEntee, and Rep. Carol Hagan McEntee, sponsor, at a ceremonial bill signing of the legislation held in the State Room of the State House.
For more information, contact:
Andrew Caruolo, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903