Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
4/28/2020 Joint Legislative COVID-19 Emergency Spending Task Force to meet Thursday
STATE HOUSE – The Joint Legislative COVID-19 Emergency Spending Task Force will hold its first meeting on Thursday, April 30, at 4 p.m. in the House Lounge.

The 12-member task force will conduct a review of emergency spending on the COVID-19 response, including administration testimony on the emergency declaration timeline and executive emergency authority, expenditure and encumbrance data, and prioritization process and distribution of resources.

President of the Senate Dominick J. Ruggerio and Speaker of the House Nicholas A. Mattiello appointed the task force last week, and have announced that the co-chairs will be House Finance Committee Chairman Marvin L. Abney (D-Dist. 73, Newport, Middletown) and Senate Finance Committee Chairman William J. Conley Jr. (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket).

President Ruggerio also appointed the following Senate members: Sen. Sandra Cano (D-Dist. 8, Pawtucket); Senate Judiciary Committee Chairwoman Erin Lynch Prata (D-Dist. 31, Warwick, Cranston); Senate Health and Human Services Committee Chairman Joshua Miller (D-Dist. 28, Cranston, Providence); Sen. Thomas J. Paolino (R-Dist. 17, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield); and Senate Environment and Agriculture Committee Chairwoman V. Susan Sosnowski (D-Dist. 37, South Kingstown, New Shoreham).

Speaker Mattiello also appointed the following House members: Rep. Jason Knight (D-Dist. 67, Barrington, Warren), Rep. John W. Lyle Jr. (R-Dist. 46, Lincoln, Pawtucket), Rep. Alex D. Marszalkowski (D-Dist. 52, Cumberland), House Oversight Committee Chairwoman Patricia A. Serpa (D-Dist. 27, West Warwick, Coventry, Warwick) and House Labor Committee Chairwoman Anastasia P. Williams (D-Dist. 9, Providence).

Most Task Force members will be attending in person, with a few meeting remotely.  Representatives of the Raimondo administration will offer testimony remotely.

The meeting will be televised live on Capitol Television, which can be seen on Cox Channels 15 and 61, in high definition on Cox Channel 1013, on Full Channel on Channel 15 and on Channel 34 by Verizon subscribers.  It will also be live streamed at

No public testimony will be taken.  The State House is currently closed to the public during the pandemic. Documents provided at the hearing will be made available on the General Assembly website at

NOTE TO MEDIA – Media members should contact Greg Paré or Larry Berman for information regarding coverage.

For more information, contact:
Larry Berman, Communications Director for the Office of the Speaker
State House Room 331A
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-2466