Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
6/2/2020 Media Advisory: COVID-19 Emergency Spending Task Force to meet
STATE HOUSE – The Joint Legislative COVID-19 Emergency Spending Task Force will meet Tuesday, June 9, at 4 p.m. in the House Lounge.

The task force is scheduled to review emergency spending on the COVID-19 response, including Administration testimony on updated expenditure and encumbrance data, including items not included likely to be incurred, and hear detailed reviews of nursing home COVID-19 support including personal protective equipment and surge hospital expenses including future estimates and disposition of equipment. Members will also ask questions on prior hearing responses.

The meeting will be televised live on Capitol Television, which can be seen on Cox Channels 15 and 61 and in high definition on Cox Channel 1061; on Full Channel on Channel 15; and on Channel 34 by Verizon subscribers. It will also be live streamed at

Most task force members will be attending in person, with a few meeting remotely. Representatives of the Raimondo Administration will offer testimony remotely. No public testimony will be taken at this meeting nor will it be open to the public. Documents provided at the hearing will be made available on the General Assembly website at

Media members should contact Greg Pare or Larry Berman to make arrangements for coverage.
The task force is co-chaired by House Finance Committee Chairman Marvin L. Abney (D-Dist. 73, Newport, Middletown) and Senate Finance Committee Chairman William J. Conley Jr. (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket). Members include Sen. Sandra Cano (D-Dist. 8, Pawtucket), Senate Judiciary Committee Chairwoman Erin Lynch Prata (D-Dist. 31, Warwick, Cranston), Senate Health and Human Services Committee Chairman Joshua Miller (D-Dist. 28, Cranston, Providence), Sen. Thomas J. Paolino (R-Dist. 17, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield), Senate Environment and Agriculture Committee Chairwoman V. Susan Sosnowski (D-Dist. 37, South Kingstown, New Shoreham), Rep. Jason Knight (D-Dist. 67, Barrington, Warren), Rep. John W. Lyle Jr. (R-Dist. 46, Lincoln, Pawtucket), Rep. Alex D. Marszalkowski (D-Dist. 52, Cumberland), House Oversight Committee Chairwoman Patricia A. Serpa (D-Dist. 27, West Warwick, Coventry, Warwick) and House Labor Committee Chairwoman Anastasia P. Williams (D-Dist. 9, Providence).

For more information, contact:
Larry Berman, Communications Director for the Office of the Speaker
State House Room 331A
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-2466