Rep. Amore bill that extends "look back" period on DUI offenses heard by House Judiciary Committee
STATE HOUSE – Rep. Gregg Amore’s legislation (2019-H 5766) which extends the “look back” period on repeat alcohol-related vehicular offenses from the current five years to 10 years was heard by the House Judiciary Committee last week.
“Serial drunk drivers are currently gaming the legal system due to our lax “look-back” laws and this situation needs to be rectified immediately so that those who continuously drink and drive are held fully responsible for their dangerous, selfish and habitual behavior," said Representative Amore.
According to the Century Council’s Hardcore Drunk Driving Sourcebook, a majority of jurisdictions have a “look back” period of 10 years. In fact, Rhode Island is the only New England state with a “look back” period of less than 10 years.
“The current five-year look back period is a dangerous loophole,” said Representative Amore. “It allows repeat offenders to be treated as first offenders, after the five year period has elapsed, in both the District Court and the Traffic Tribunal. Not only does that threaten the lives of Rhode Islanders who must share the roads with individuals with a long history of driving drunk, it also allows these repeat drunk drivers to receive lessened sanctions.”
The 10 year “look back” period is supported by the National Highway Safety Administration, the Rhode Island Police Chiefs’ Association, Mothers Against Drunk Driving and the National Hardcore Drunk Driver Project.
Last year, Representative Amore was honored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) as their Legislator of the Year for his sponsorship of two bills, the “look back” bill that he has reintroduced this session and legislation that creates a new criminal offense of driving under the influence resulting in non-serious bodily injury.
The bill was held for further study by the committee.
For more information, contact:
Andrew Caruolo, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903